Change Language:
Import C3D into Houdini. - Datsyk Mykhailo
View Sidebar
Import C3D into Houdini.

Import C3D into Houdini.

October 19, 2014 2:12 pm0 comments

Prehistory. I will briefly describe the project's history and why I generally decided create C3D importer in Houdini, if there is no desire and ability to read the whole text, there is a short description and a link to the tool at the bottom of the post.

Recently started work on the project, in which we had to create a system that allows to create content for TV shows, that will lead humanlike animals. We haven't worked with of character animation yet. We tried to find a ready solution. Viewed a lot of information on mathematics and mechanics of muscles on the face. In this case, it was necessary to automate the process of the data flow in the whole chain of production: from shooting(mocap and real actors) to obtain the final result.

As result, we were inspired by Gorlum from “Lord of the Rings”, Weta Digital created a system based on a clever mix of hero face different states according to math laws. We have our own studio mocap, in fact, we started to work closely with them. We've got to shoot at the same time 2 data flows: face key points position, which gave us the opportunity to create a model of the mix states, mocap data of the body and head.

We were given 2 type data from Vicon Blade (fbx with head behaviour and с3d with face points). Ours main working software is Sidefx Houdini, He worked well with fbx data, but unfortunately with c3d can't, redy-to-use solution, we did not find. On the developers site I found few Python modules, able to handle the data type. I took them as a basis for my Houdini tool.

After, we placed all data into Houdini, asset. Houdini has a huge potential not only for creating cg, but as full value system prototyping . Aseet analyzes the distances between key points of mocap data and mixes different face states with masks and math laws(such conditions we had to make 40, until we are satisfied). There is also the possibility to do change in automatic process, animating distances between points.

There were also problems with data synchronization (2-mocaps and video) we solved it and have, non-commertial yet, but working tool. There is announcement: http://postmodern.com.ua/blogs/view/33

We have working prototype and understanding of all production process, in near future we will create a tool, with best speed and quality.

Houdini tool. Here is the process of importing:

c3dtohoudini

I implemented 2 import type for different tasks:

  • An array of pixels in which data is written, including the name of each marker
  • Null group node with the name of each marker

diffrent_types_c3d

Video demonstration of the ready-to-work data:

 

Installation instructions and sample files are on GitHab:

Leave a reply


Trackbacks

Change Language:
Импорт C3D в Houdini. - Datsyk Mykhailo
View Sidebar
Импорт C3D в Houdini.

Импорт C3D в Houdini.

Октябрь 19, 2014 2:12 пп0 comments

Предистория. Я коротко опишу историю проекта и зачем я вообще взялся делать импортер C3D файлов в Houdini, если нет желания и возможности читать весь этот текст, внизу поста есть короткое описание и ссылка на инструмент.

Недавно появился проект, в котором нам предстояло создать систему позволяющую в максимально сжатые сроки создавать контент для ТВ передачи, которую вместо людей будут вести человекоподобные животные. Так как наша команда мало сталкивалась с персонажной анимацией в общем и с лицевой в частности нам пришлось перелопатить кучу информации по готовым решениям и математике связанной с этим вопросом. При этом нужно было автоматизировать процесс следования данных по всей цепочке производства: от съемок(натурных+мокап) до собственно получения готового результата.

В итоге нас вдохновил Горлум из «Властелина Колец», ребята из Weta Digital создали хитрую систему основанную на смешивания различных состояний лица героя по определенным законам. У нас есть своя студия мокапа, собственно мы начали плотно сотрудничать с ними. У нас получилось снимать одновременно 2 потока данных: данные о положении точек на ключевых узлах лица, которые дали нам возможность создать модель смешивания состояний, данные о движении тела и головы.

Нам выдали 2 типа данных из Vicon Blade (fbx с поведением головы и с3d c точками в пространстве). Наш основной софт для работы Sidefx Houdini, он прекрасно справился с fbx данными, но к сожалению c3d он прочитать не смог, поиск готового решения ни к чему не привел. На сайте разработчика формата я нашел несколько Python модулей, способных обрабатывать его тип данных. Их я взял за основу для своего инструмента.

После того как все данные успешно оказались в Houdini мы сделали ассет, в который подгружалась вся информация. Houdini имеет огромный потенциал не только как среда для создания графики, но и как полноценный инструмент проектирования. Асеет анализирует расстояния между ключевыми точками полученной анимации и смешивает различные состояния лица героя по хитрым маскам и законам(таких состояний нам пришлось сделать около 40, пока нас не устроил результат). Имеется также возможность вмешательства в автоматический процесс, посредством анимации отдельных связей.

Были еще проблемы с синхронизацией данных (2-х мокапов и видео) мы ее решили и оформили, пока не коммерческий, но вполне работающий инструмент. Вот ссылка на анонс: http://postmodern.com.ua/blogs/view/33

Уже есть рабочий прототип и понимание всех процессов производства, планируем в ближайшем будущем оформить некий продукт с еще большей скоростью работы и лучшим качеством.

Собственно сам инструмент для Houdini. Вот так выглядит процесс импорта:

c3dtohoudini

Я реализовал 2 типа импорта для разных задач:

  • Массив точек в которые записываются данные, включая имя каждого маркера
  • Группа Null нод с названием каждого маркера

diffrent_types_c3d

Видео демонстрация готовых к работе данных:

 

Инструкция по установке и файлы примеров есть на GitHab:

Leave a reply


Trackbacks